Serving the seven counties of Brewster, Culberson, Doña Ana, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Presidio, and the Tribal Nation of Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

The Rio Grande Council of Governments is a voluntary association of local governments formed under Texas law. In January of 1967, local elected officials in El Paso County joined together to form the El Paso Council of Governments. This organization was initiated to further intergovernmental cooperation and coordination in the planning, development and delivery of governmental services within El Paso County, Texas.

In 1971, the counties of Hudspeth, Culberson, Jeff Davis, Presidio and Brewster were included in the organization to form a truly “Regional” body, and the organization was renamed West Texas Council of Governments. In 1987, by vote of the membership, Doña Ana County, New Mexico and the local governments within were included as full members and the name of the organization was changed to the Rio Grande Council of Governments.